The End?

Creative Writing

Today Tuesday the 4th of June I have officially finished High school! I had my final exams today, and now I sit here procrastinating.  It’s funny, during my revision and exams, I would list 101 things that I want to starting doing as soon as I had finished my exams, however now that its all over I feel quite lost. I’m not quite sure what to do with myself, trying to set my priorities – debating whether painting my bedroom or starting my driving lessons is more important 😛

Reflecting over my high school experience, I guess now Its struck me – reviewing the past 7 years, how so much has changed.  The friendships formed and lost. I don’t see this as the end, but a new beginning. I look forward to starting university in September, although I’m still trying to wrap my head around it, seems as though its all happening too fast- with my 18th birthday approaching I feel old!

Well on a different note, here is a poem that I made based on transformation on A Glass Menagerie – I felt as though writing this helped me to relate and accept the changes that are to come…

The seed in which she helped nurture and grow

 Now corrupted by weeds intertwining with my roots,

‘Tis all but a result of my Childish woe

Forces of nature now defining my fate

Once a beauty surrounded by the thorn that protects-

 is shun by inferior reality as I wilt.

Urging for a mother’s love she neglects

Deafened to any sense of reasoning

Rainbows paint the walls around;

Yet I’m consumed by nothing but darkness.

A stillness filled by a familiar sound-

His voice so precious and calming.

Shards of glass lay like shattered dreams;

as the candle of friendship is rekindled

My merciful reality coming apart at the seams

Not actual not lasting.

Collecting pieces, on display for all to see

Locked away they are mockingly admired

Wishing we could escape and run free.

A desire of acceptance over the sufferings of what was stolen

Now yearning to roam; a stallion of the wild!

A confined soul that can’t be refined

This unwanted crippled child

Isolated and forever alone

A mystical creature so stunning and rare,

Uniquely standing alone.

Amongst the other horses it can’t compare-

Yet broken its difference unites.

My difference however keeps me endlessly secluded

Damaged good that can never be fixed

I live in this vision deluded

Predesigned to remain cracked and broken…

A symbol of hardship and pain represented by such grace

The Blossoming blue rose

Hope still written across my face

A façade, of painted perceptions.

Good things come to those who wait, patience is the key

Though the future is unclear I still see light

A gentleman caller waits for me

Caught in this disarray, my flame shall not diminish

Leave a comment